R. W. ALLEY

children's book illustrator / author

LINKS

Find Authors

ENZO 'S BOOKS!


ENZO AND THE CHRISTMAS TREE HUNT!

by Garth Stein
with additional text editing by ZoŽ B. Alley and R.W. Alley
illustrated by R.W. Alley


Harper /​ HarperCollins Publishers, 2015

A holiday tale based on the NY Times best-selling novel, "The Art of Racing in the Rain"

Sparkly ornaments are brought out, the neighborhood glitters with lights, and snow is in the air. When ZoŽ tells Enzo that they are going on a hunt for the perfect Christmas tree, Enzo isn't so sure. Why would they put a tree inside the house? Enzo knows he's in for an adventure.

As ZoŽ and Enzo go on the ultimate hunt, ZoŽ loses her way. But discovers that her family is never far behind.



ENZO RACES IN THE RAIN!

by Garth Stein
with ZoŽ B. Alley and R.W. Alley
illustrated by R.W. Alley


Harper /​ HarperCollins Publishers, 2014

based on the NY Times best-selling novel, "The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein

ENZO RACES IN THE RAIN! is based on the early adventures of the canine narrator of Garth Stein's novel for adults, THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN (Harper 2009) and his young adult edition, RACING IN THE RAIN: My Life as a Dog (Harper, 2011).

For this picture book introduction to Enzo, I drew the pictures, as you might expect.† And, with Garth's direction, the charming author ZoŽ B. Alley and I collaborated with him to bring his Enzo to the picture book crowd.


Meet Enzo the puppy, one very special mutt. Enzo knows he's different from other dogs. He's sure of it. But people never understand him when he barks, and it drives him crazy!

Life on the farm is pretty quiet -- except when he races the cars that come down the barn road. Because Enzo is fast!

But when Enzo meets a little girl named ZoŽ and her father, Denny, everything changes. Enzo embarks on an action-packed adventure as he makes the long journey from the farm to the city, discovers just how big the world is, and finds the family that was truly meant to be his.

PORTFOLIO & BOOKS

These two picture books follow the adventures of a puppy named Enzo, and are based on the NY Times best-selling novel, "The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein.
* Junior Library Guild Selection, 2013
Following in the tradition of BECAUSE YOUR MOMMY LOVES YOU and BECAUSE YOUR DADDY LOVES YOU," * a Bank Street Children's Book of the Year, 2006
* a Bank Street Best Book of the Year, 2013
"Upbeat, independent, and creative, Lily makes a very likable heroine..." - Booklist Online. Companion title to VALENTINE SURPRISE, 2007.
ďMarvelous for anyone with a wry sense of humor, [a book that] deserves a place in every library.Ē óSchool Library Journal, STARRED * Junior Library Guild selection, 2010
"This is a giggly read-aloud as well as a snortingly funny read-alone. Hand it to the transitional or reluctant reader, and listen for the laughs." -Booklist, STARRED * A Washington Post Best Children's Book of the Year * A School Library Journal Online Best Graphic Novel
Check out the classroom adventures of best friends Pearl and Wagner in this award-winning series of five titles. PEARL AND WAGNER: ONE FUNNY DAY, a Theodor Suess Geisel Honor Book for 2010
"Outstanding fare for young armchair Sherlocks." - Booklist, STARRED * Junior Library Guild Selections
ďThe humor is right on target for beginning readers." - School Library Journal * * Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Best Book Award, 2010
This new educational reading series offers a picture book for each letter of the alphabet.
Best-selling self-help series for adults and children.